Best Books for Children

Kate L'argent, Independent Usborne Organiser

Top Ten Books to Fall in Love With

1st February 2018

Baby Books

Are you there little fox? £5.99

Perfect for fans of That's not my, this adorable book features peep-through pages, and fingertrails to follow as your littlest family member searches for the hiding fox.

That's Not My Unicorn £6.99

This glittering touchy-feely book is our most magical addition to the That's Not My family. Babies and toddlers will love turning the pages to find the unicorn with the sparkly horn, and don't forget to search for the little white mouse on every page!

Early Years

Animal hide-and-seek £9.99

Where are Poppy, Sam, Curly and Woolly hiding? Have a game of hide-and-seek with Farmyard Tales' much loved characters, in this fun lift-the-flap book. With simple counting opportunities and lots of textures to touch and feel, this is sure to become a storytime favourite.

What is Poo? £7.99

An all-time favourite with children, this hilarious lift-the-flap book talks children through one of their most treasured topics - poo! Get ready for disgusting conversations, and a brilliant quiz at the end on whose poo is whose!

Young Fiction

Billy and the Mini Monsters - Monsters in the Dark £5.99

Fall in love with this much-loved series, about a boy called Billy and his naughty mini monsters. Meet the monsters for the very first time in this title, and discover how much fun having real monsters under the bed can be!

Knitbone Pepper Best Friends Forever £6.99

Meet Knitbone Pepper, the special ghost dog haunting Starcross Hall! A wonderful story about love and friendship, and the special bond between a dog and their owner. Jam-packed with mayhem, chuckles and woofs, this is the first title in a wonderfully whimsical series.

Middle Grade Fiction

Being Miss Nobody £6.99

Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She's the weird girl who doesn't talk. And it's easy to pick on someone who can't fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog - Miss Nobody, and speaks out against the bullies, but is Miss Nobody becoming a bully herself? Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, this is a novel that everyone will be able to relate to.

Cogheart £6.99

Lily's life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. With her friend Robert and mechanical fox Malkin, Lily is plunged into a dangerous world, where those she holds most dear may be the ones to break her heart. Magical, mysterious and menacing, this Victorian adventure is one to treasure.

Young Adult Fiction

The Extinction Trials £7.99

Betrayal. Sacrific. Survival. Welcome to the Extinction Trials. In a novel where Jurassic Park meets The Hunger Games, Stormchaser and Lincoln will do anything to survive in their dystopian world. But in a land full of monsters - human and reptilian - they can't afford to trust anyone. Perhaps not even each other... 

Am I Normal Yet? £7.99

The first title in the incredible Spinster Club Series, Am I Normal Yet is all about Evie. All Evie wants is to be normal. And now that she's almost off her meds and at a new college, there's only one thing left to tick off her list... But relationships can mess with anyone's head, and if Evie can't tell her friends her secrets, how can they stop her making a huge mistake?